Gray's Journal

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Warm Up With Winter Cocktails - Beverage Manager Jeffrey Sykes's Favorites!

Days have grown shorter, the sunsets more colorful and sometimes we just need a drink to warm us up on those cold winter evenings.

While most people think warm drinks will do the trick, think again! Wintertime cocktails may be served cold but pack a nice warm punch. Combine it with an evening sitting by the fire and you've just created the perfect wintertime concoction.

The list of winter cocktails could go on and on, but we went straight to the source and spoke with Graylyn's Beverage Manager Jeffrey Sykes to get his secret list of the best wintertime drinks. Pour, mix, sip and enjoy!

The Old Fashioned (a Graylyn Signature Cocktail!)
Patiently aged Knob Creek small batch rye whiskey muddled with orange peel, maraschino cherry, sugar and Angostura Bitters. Served on the rocks in a highball glass

2 oz bourbon whiskey
2 dashes Angostura┬« bitters
1 splash water
1 tsp sugar
maraschino cherry
orange wedge




Mix sugar, water and angostura bitters in an old-fashioned glass. Drop in a cherry and an orange wedge. Muddle into a paste using a muddler or the back end of a spoon. Pour in bourbon, fill with ice cubes, and stir.

Pear and Sparking Cider Cocktail

2 cups pear nectar, chilled
2 cups sparkling apple cider, chilled
2 cups seltzer, chilled
4 ounces (1/2 cup) bourbon whiskey, such as Knob Creek

1 Bosc pear, unpeeled, cored, and cut lengthwise into 8 wedges

Stir together pear nectar, cider, seltzer, and whiskey in a pitcher. Divide pear wedges among glasses, and pour in cocktail. Serve immediately.

Dandy Shandy

4 ounces good quality dark stout or porter beer (or nonalcoholic beer) (1/2 cup)

4 ounces chilled ginger ale or ginger beer (1/2 cup)

Place dark stout beer in a serving glass. Pour ginger ale atop. Makes 1 (8-ounce) serving.

Smoky Martini

2 oz Absolut Vodka
.5 oz Laphroig Single Malt Scotch Whisky
1 dash Pernod

Add both ingredients to a mixing glass and fill with ice.
Stir, and strain into a Martini glass. Garnish with a lemon twist.






Labels: , , , , , ,

ShareThis

4 Comments:

Blogger Fangyaya said...

canada goose outlet
canada goose sale
canada goose outlet
ray ban outlet
fitflops sale
red bottom shoes
moncler uk
coach factory outlet
gucci belts
cheap oakley sunglasses
michael kors bags
oakley vault
tory burch flats
louis vuitton bags
gucci handbags
jordans for sale
coach outlet clearance
rolex watches for sale
canada goose sale
michael kors canada outlet
louis vuitton outlet stores
cheap ray ban sunglasses
ugg boots
michael kors outlet
true religion outlet
coach outlet store online
fitflops sale
coach outlet online
adidas yeezy
uggs italia
uggs for women
christian louboutin shoes
ugg sale
ray ban sunglasses uk
tommy hilfiger outlet
ralph lauren outlet
coach factory outlet online
michael kors purses
nike air max pas cher
michael kors outlet clearance
20168.18chenjinyan

August 18, 2016 at 5:46 AM  
Blogger Eric Yao said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Ferragamo Belt http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger Outlet http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

September 20, 2016 at 4:37 AM  
Blogger dada24 Xu said...

gucci bags
nike air max
cheap jerseys
toms
michael kors handbags
louis vuitton outlet store
cheap oakley sunglasses
canada goose jackets
air max 90
michael kors outlet canada
zhi20170113

January 12, 2017 at 7:52 PM  
Blogger Gege Dai said...

hxy3.25
tory burch outlet online
coach outlet online coach factory outlet
links of london
adidas wings
cheap replica watches
louis vuitton outlet
cheap oakley sunglasses
louis vuitton borse
ray ban sunglasses
kobe 9

March 25, 2017 at 6:14 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home